News
State of Play Recap: Final Fantasy VII Revelation Lands April 8, 2027, Until Dawn 2 and Metro 2039 Get Dates, and Sony Builds a LEGO PlayStation
Sony promised that this morning's State of Play would end with an extended look at Final Fantasy VII Revelation, and it kept a bigger promise than that. Director Naoki Hamaguchi opened the segment with the date: April 8, 2027, on PS5. The Remake trilogy that started in 2020 now has a finish line, a week into next spring.
Around that finale, the show packed a surprising number of hard dates for a September broadcast. Two horror games and a post-apocalyptic shooter landed in early 2027, Ghost of Yōtei's roguelike mode got its debut, GTA 6 got controllers, and the strangest reveal of the day was a 1,911 piece LEGO set of the original PlayStation. Here is what Sony actually confirmed, with the full broadcast below.
Video: PlayStation on YouTube
Revelation finally has a date, and a very different structure
The gameplay walkthrough showed the part of the trilogy Square Enix has been most cagey about: what you do with the whole planet once the Highwind is yours. The airship is available early, and the party can drop anywhere on an open world that connects the regions of Rebirth into one map. A chocobo companion named Piko doubles as a mount and a fighter, a grappling gun handles vertical traversal, and you can switch the character you control while exploring, not only in battle.
The biggest mechanical change is a system called FITS: four combat uniforms, Warrior, Knight, Black Mage and Summoner, that change both the moveset and the look of the character wearing them. Square Enix also said the party members you bring along affect how story scenes play out, and that Red XIII gets his own Queen's Blood storyline for the card game fans of the Planet's Crisis trailer were hoping to see return.
Three editions were announced. Premium bundles a Story Expansion Pass with two story-focused DLC releases, 24 hours of early access and a set of early-game consumables. Premium Plus adds a digital art book, a mini soundtrack and the Polydroid Alexander summon. Every pre-order gets a Mecha-Chocobo and Moogle summon. Sony did not state prices, and its post only covers PS5. Square Enix's own site lists Switch 2, Xbox and PC versions, so we would wait for the publisher before assuming every platform shares the April date.
The rest of the calendar filled in fast
Until Dawn 2 launches January 28, 2027 on PS5. Firesprite is developing it with AdHoc Studio handling the story, and the premise is a fake ghost hunting YouTube crew called Dead True stranded at an abandoned resort on Akishima Island in the South Pacific. Pre-orders open September 10, and the deluxe edition adds eight Y2K themed costumes and a gallery of the ways your cast can die. One week later, on February 4, 2027, 4A Games ships Metro 2039, a solo, story-driven Metro that takes a former Spartan called The Stranger onto the surface of Moscow, with a PS5 Pro performance mode running ray tracing at 60fps.
Fate/Extra Record shares Until Dawn 2's January 28 date on PS5 and PS4, Hunter's Moon, a historical folk-horror game, arrives October 26, and Maneater 2 and a new adventure game called Uncanyon are both down for 2027 with no month yet. Gran Turismo 7's Spec IV update splits into two drops later this year. Sucker Punch also showed Jin Sakai as one of the four playable characters in Most Wanted, the roguelike survival mode that ships October 1 with the Ghost of Yōtei Complete Edition and its $14.99 upgrade, and the Final Fantasy Resonance demo went live on PS5 today with Sephiroth revealed for that game too.
Hardware, and the LEGO PlayStation we did not see coming
Two Grand Theft Auto VI limited edition DualSense controllers, a black Vice City nightlife model and a white daybreak one, both with a color-shifting finish and molded palm trees, release November 19 at $84.99. Pre-orders open September 10 at 10:00am local time, and the black version is a PlayStation Direct exclusive in most regions.
Then Sony built its own console out of plastic bricks. The LEGO PlayStation is a roughly 1:1 replica of the 1994 console and controller, 1,911 pieces and 26 cm wide, with a working power button, a lid that opens, and two removable dioramas: a Gran Turismo track with tiny cars and an Ape Escape island with swappable helmets. It costs $179.99, 159.99 euros or 139.99 pounds, with PlayStation Direct and LEGO Insiders early access on October 1 and general LEGO availability from October 4. Our honest take on the whole show: no surprise megaton, but a State of Play that turns four vague windows into four real dates is exactly the kind we prefer, and Revelation's April 8 is the one that will stick.
Source: PlayStation Blog
FAQ
When does Final Fantasy VII Revelation come out?
April 8, 2027. Sony confirmed the PS5 date at the September 3 State of Play. Square Enix's official site also lists Nintendo Switch 2, Xbox and PC versions, but the PlayStation post only speaks for PS5, so check Square Enix for the other platforms' timing.
What editions does Final Fantasy VII Revelation have?
Standard, Premium and Premium Plus. Premium adds a Story Expansion Pass with two story DLC drops, 24 hour early access and in-game items. Premium Plus adds a digital art book, a mini soundtrack and the Polydroid Alexander Summon Materia. Every pre-order gets the Mecha-Chocobo and Moogle Summon Materia. Prices were not stated.
How much is the LEGO PlayStation and when can I buy it?
$179.99 in the US, 159.99 euros in Europe and 139.99 pounds in the UK. PlayStation Direct and LEGO Insiders get early access on October 1, 2026, with general LEGO.com and LEGO Store availability from October 4.